THIS YEAR IN BASEBALL 2019

Rakuten to Buy Lamigo Monkeys

Over the past years, I’ve been a loyal supporters of Taoyuan Lamigo Monkeys since they changed the team name from La New Bears and moved from Kaohsiung to Taoyuan in 2011 CPBL season.

The first time I visited Lamigo Monkeys was simply because I won the lottery when I registered as the member on their official website to be able to watch one ballgame in the Lamigo Suite with friends for free.

Ever since, I have been to so many memoralbe games, season and Taiwan Series alike. The team has its highs and lows and it has been a great part of my life for the long while.

First game in Lamigo Monkey’s game, back in 2011.

So, to my great surprise, I felt shocked to learn from the internet that the ownership would like to sell the team, since La New Corporation could no longer afford the ever-incresing expense of the Monkeys.

Alas, I would not know last year in Taiwan Series, it was actually the last game of me attending Monkeys’ game. I thought I would live all my life with the Lamigo Monkeys.

So, for some monthes on, no one knew that who would the new onwership be. Eventally, we all came to learn that the Japanese coporation Rakuten would buy Lamigo Monkeys.

For the time being, we were still not sure what the new name would be. It seemed that they would keep the moscot and “Taoyuan Monkeys”. Well, I sincerely hope that they would keep the connection with the previous ownership so that we, as the old fans, would not feel too distant and unfamiliar with the new Logo and name.

Little did I know that it would be the last time for me to support Lamigo Monkeys…

In their last season as the Lamigo Monkeys, I finally purchased a home jersey as a tribute to my youth and all of those unforgetable memories I have experienced with Lamigo Monkeys.

Oakland A’s Still Fails to Win the Last Game of Season

Ouch, the heart-wrenching outcome every single year…

Alas, another wildcard game for the 2019 Oakland Athletics.
Yet, another embarrassing defeat for my beloved team.
They lost to another low-budget small-market team, the Tampa Bay Rays.

Sean Manaea took the loss as he allowed 3 homers in 2+ innings…

This loss made the team 9 straight losses in a do-or-die and winner-take-all postseason game since the year of 2000. Unfortunately, I had witnessed many of the gut-wrenching games over the 19 years. It hurts, it really hurts. I did not know how come in the postseason the fate of the Oakland Athletics had always been cursed. Misfortune comes, that’s a part of the life, but where is the end of the tunnel for the Oakland A’s and my spirits as a die-hard A’s fan?

Marcus Semien has been the MVP of the Oakland A’s this season.

We shall see, and hopefully next season would be the YEAR. We still have a young team packed with talents and stars in the making.

New Yok Yankess vs. Boston Red Sox in London

I’m glad that I made a plan to visit London to watch the unprecedented event of the Major League in the European continent.

Although I am neither the Yanks fan nor the Sox. The game still had its historic significant meaning in the development of baseball, at least in Europe.

MLB in London

Many people showed up, and the heat of London in June would not stop the passionate baseball fans from America and Europe alike.

The game itself was fun to watch, but it took too much time. Two teams combined hit 6 homeruns could not make the game more entertaining.

Recap

U23 European Championship

The second baseball game of the year for me occured in Prague, Czech Republic. I had been to Eagles Stadium in Prague back in 2013 when I first encourtered Baseball Czech and started to like the team ever since.

2013 vs. 2019 with Team Czech players/friends

It was a nostalgic feeling for me to return to Eagles Stadium with my best friend Jakub and my Emily from Taiwan to watc the home team, Czech Republic and Belgium.

Me on the National Broadcast

The game itself is not important as Team Czech is indeed a better well-rounded team compared with Belgium. Team Czech also hit a couple of homers. If my memory didn’t fail me, this was the first time for me to watch Team Czech to hit it out of the park in Eagles Stadium.

With Jonhy Novak, again in Prague

U18 Team Taiwan clinched World Championship

In Istanbul, I watched the game between Team Taiwan and USA in the final of U18 Baseball Championship.

Oh, hell. It was probably the most exicting and nail-biting game that I had watched in this year.

With the steller performance of the Taiwanese starters, the team had led the opponent throughout the game. However, the Americans tried to stage a comeback at the bottom of the nineth by scoring the first run of the game in two outs.

Taiwan No.1

Oh man, my heart almost stopped for a scound when I saw the hard liner to right was caught by the right outfielder. We won, we won. We clinched the championship.

It was the best moment to win as a underdog. Well done! Team Taiwan!!

Leave a comment